People

NSF RTG Faculty and Research Interests

Jozsef BaloghGraph Theory and Combinatorics
Philippe Di FrancescoMathematical Physics, Physical Combinatorics, Integrable Systems
Kevin FordAnalytic and Combinatorial Number Theory
Rinat Kedem Representation Theory of Affine Algebras, Vertex Algebras and Deformations; Integrable Models in Statistical Mechanics and Field Theory; Cluster Algebras
Alexandr KostochkaAlexandr KostochkaGraph Theory and Combinatorics
Alexander YongAlgebraic Combinatorics

For an entire list of faculty with interests in combinatorics see here.

Current Postdocs in Combinatorics

Reuven Hodges (Doob postdoc, 2018-2021)

Sean English (Doob postdoc, 2019-2022)

Avery St. Dizier (NSF postdoc, 2020-2023)

We will be hiring four additional postdocs (US citizens or permanent residents) through the NSF RTG grant during the next five years. Feel free to contact RTG faculty about your interest. 

Current Graduate Students in Combinatorics

    • Emily Heath (entered 2015) (eheath3 @ illinois.edu)
    • Dara Zirlin (entered 2015) (zirlin2 @ illinois.edu)
    • Colleen Robichaux (entered 2016) (cer2@illinois.edu)
    • William Linz (entered 2016) (wlinz2@illinois.edu)
    • Felix Clemen (entered 2017) (fclemen2@illinois.edu)
    • Mina Nahvi (entered 2019) (mnahvi2@illinois.edu)
    • Gidon Orelowitz (entered 2018) (gidono2@illinois.edu)
    • Shiliang Gao (entered 2019) (sgao23@illinois.edu)
    • Jingwei Xu (entered 2019) (jx6@illinois.edu)

Past Graduates (with year and Ph.D. advisor)

Photo: most of the University of Illinois contingent at the SIAM Discrete Mathematics meeting in Victoria, Canada, in June 2006. Photo: includes six of our students (with names) at an IMA program at Georgia Tech in 2003.

1980s – 5 students; 1990s – 15 students; 2000s – 18 students; 2010s – 44 students;  2020’s – 1 student

  • Xujun Liu (2020, Kostochka)
  • Lina Li (2019, Balogh)
  • Ruth Luo (2019, Kostochka)
  • Derrek Yager (2019, Kostochka)
  • Anton Bernsteyn (2018, Kostochka, Tserunyan)
  • Anna Weigandt (2018, Yong)
  • Cara Monical (2018, Yong)
  • Adam Zsolt Wagner (2018, Balogh)
  • Michelle Delcourt (2017, Balogh)
  • Sarah Loeb (2017, West)
  • Sarka Petrickova (2017, Balogh)
  • Andrew McConvey (2017, Kostochka)
  • Maryam Sharifzadeh (2016, Balogh)
  • Hannah Spinoza (2016, West)
  • Oliver Pechenik (2016, Yong)
  • Michael Santana (2016, Kostochka)
  • Jennifer Wise (2016, West)
  • Hong Liu (2016, Balogh)
  • Thomas Mahoney (2015, West)
  • Daniel McDonald (2015, West)
  • Ben Reiniger (2015, Kostochka)
  • Elyse Yeager (2015, Kostochka)
  • Dominic Searles (2015, Yong)
  • Ilkyoo Choi (2014, Kostochka)
  • Jaehoon Kim (2014, Kostochka)
  • Gregory Puleo (2014, West)
  • Ping Hu (2014, Balogh)
  • Sogol Jahanbekan (2013, West)
  • Matthew Yancey (2013, Kostochka)
  • Fang-Kai (Kyle) Jao (2013, West)
  • Bill Kinnersley (2012, West)
  • Jane Butterfield (2012, Balogh)
  • John Lenz (2011, Balogh)
  • Hehui Wu (2011, West)
  • Timothy LeSaulnier (2011, West)
  • Suil O (2011, West)
  • Reza Zamani (2011, West (CS)
  • Mohit Kumbhat (2011, Kostochka)
  • Younjin Kim (2011, Füredi)
  • Chris Stocker (2011, Kostochka)
  • Wojciech Samotij (2010, Balogh)
  • Kevin Milans (2010, West)
  • Ida Kantor (2010, Füredi)
  • Paul Wenger (2010, West)
  • Lale Ozkahya (2010, Füredi)
  • Michael Barrus (2009, West)
  • Jeong-Ok Choi (2008, West)
  • Naeem Sheikh (2008, Kostochka)
  • Burak Stodolsky (2008, Kostochka)
  • Noah Prince (2008, Balogh) (nprince @ imsa.edu)
  • Jennifer Vandenbussche (2008, West) (jvandenb @ spsu.edu)
  • Qi Liu (2007, West) (qiliu @ gsm.pku.edu.cn)
  • Daniel Cranston (2007, West (CS)) (dcranston @ vcu.edu)
  • Gexin Yu (2006, Kostochka) (gyu @ wm.edu)
  • Weiting Cao (2006, West) (caoweiting @ gmail.com)
  • Hemanshu Kaul (2006, West/Jacobson) (kaul @ math.iit.edu)
  • Kyung-Won Hwang (2005, Füredi) (khwang7 @ kookmin.ac.kr)
  • Kittikorn Nakprasit (2004, Kostochka) (kitnak @ hotmail.com)
  • Jeong-Hyun Kang (2004, Füredi) (jkang @ westga.edu)
  • Seog-Jin Kim (2003, West) (skim12 @ konkuk.ac.kr)
  • Michael Pelsmajer (2002, West) (pelsmajer @ iit.edu)
  • Radhika Ramamurthi (2001, West) (deceased)
  • Tao Jiang (2000, West) (jiangt @ muohio.edu)
  • Ya-Chen Chen (1999, Füredi) (cchen @ math.la.asu.edu)
  • Andre Kundgen (1999, Füredi) (akundgen @ csusm.edu)
  • Maria Axenovich (1999, Füredi) (maria.aksenovich @ kit.edu)
  • Dhruv Mubayi (1998, West) (mubayi @ math.uic.edu)
  • Chris Hartman (1997, West) (hartman @ uafcs.alaska.edu)
  • Glenn Chappell (1996, West) (ffggc @ uaf.edu)
  • Yi-Wu Chang (1994, West) (chang @ math.nccu.edu.tw)
  • Janice Malouf (1994, Füredi) (jmalouf @ cs.csubak.edu)
  • Myung S. Chung (1993, West) (ChungMSB @ aol.com)
  • In-Jen Lin (1993, West) (ijlin @ cs.ntou.edu.tw)
  • Todd G. Will (1993, West) (will.todd @ uwlax.edu)
  • John George (1991, Weichsel) (jgeorge @ gordonstate.edu)
  • Hunter Snevily (1991, West) (deceased)
  • Robin S. Sanders (1990, Weichsel) (sanders @ math.buffalostate.edu)
  • Andre E. Kezdy (1990, West) (kezdy @ louisville.edu)
  • Thomas M. Kratzke (1988, West) (kratzke @ ilog.com)
  • Margaret L. Weaver (1988, West) (cfmlw1 @ eiu.edu)
  • J. Scott Sportsman (1987, Weichsel) (scott_sportsman @ mail.msj.edu)
  • Robert A. Beezer (1984, Weichsel) (beezer @ ups.edu)
  • Paul M. Terwilliger (1982, Weichsel) (terwilli @ math.wisc.edu)

History of Visitors

Long-Term Visitors

  • Neil Fan (Sichuan U), 8-17-8-18
  • Alexander Woo (U. Idaho), 8-17-12-17
  • Robert Jamison (Clemson U), 1/11-6/11
  • Seog-Jin Kim (Konkuk U, South Korea), 1/10-1/11
  • Arash Rafiey (Simon Fraser U.), 8/08-10/08
  • Oleg Borodin (Novosibirsk), 1/05-5/05
  • Peter Hamburger (IU-PU Fort Wayne), 8/03-5/04
  • Dmitry Fon-Der-Flaass (Novosibirsk), 1/03-5/03
  • Vitaly Voloshin (Moldova), 2/02-5/02
  • Nikolai Kuzjurin (Russian Academy of Science, Moscow), 8/01-12/01
  • Dmitry Fon-Der-Flaass (Novosibirsk), 8/00-5/01
  • Jian Shen (Queen’s U., U So. Texas), 1/00-6/00
  • Yoshiyasu Ishigami (Tokyo), 8/99-3/01
  • Vitaly Voloshin (Moldova), 2/98-8/98
  • James Haglund, 8/95-5/97
  • Joseph Zaks (Israel), 1/96-5/96
  • Xiaoyun Lu, 8/92-8/94
  • Gyula Katona (Hungarian Academy, Budapest), 1/93-5/93
  • Malay Sen (North Bengal U, India), 8/88-7/89

Postdoctoral Faculty

  • Avery St. Dizier (Cornell), 8/20-5/23
  • Sean English (Western Michigan U), 8/19-5/22
  • Reuven Hodges (Northeastern), 8/19-5/21
  • Misha Lavrov (Carnegie Mellon U) 8/17-5/20
  • Laura Escobar (Cornell), 8/15-5/18
  • Alexander Miller (Minnesota), 8/14-5/17
  • Theodore Molla (Arizona State U), 8/13-5/17
  • Benjamin Wyser (Georgia), 8/12-5/17
  • Bernard Lidicky (Charles U) 8/11-5/14
  • Li Li (Stony Brook), 8/07-5/10
  • Sujith Vijay (Rutgers), 8/07-5/10
  • Stephen Hartke (Rutgers), 8/04-5/07
  • Jozef Skokan (Emory), 8/00-5/03
  • Tibor Szabo (Ohio St.), 8/97-5/00